top of page
Search

Interruptions and Invitations

In the course of about two weeks, we had no power for 24 hours, no gas for half a day, and sporadic water for 4 days. While the concentration of all of these in two weeks is not typical, each individual occurrence is simply a reality of living in the jungle.


We are far enough away from the main city, and even the town square, that we are not a high priority when it comes to the restoration of power or water when it goes out. As for gas, I have to text one of our wonderful school handymen to please come and replace our gas tank; the timing for that depends on their availability.


While losing water, power, or gas in itself is not a huge deal, I will admit that losing them have, on occasion, been the cause for tears at the end of a long day when all I wanted was a hot shower.


The most bothersome thing I've felt about these losses is how they disrupt how I envisioned my day going. The 'ideal' that I have going in my head that would somehow make me more awake and prepared to continue working hard. Sometimes they even make it so I cannot accomplish what I wanted to for the day.


And I wonder if that is exactly how God plans it...


Because of this, I have been challenged to think through how I might be growing a dependency on things that are not constant or life-giving.


When I come home to a house without power, am I still 'okay'? Sure, there is the frustration of not being able to finish my work or to watch a movie I was looking forward to, but am I able to get over that? Was I staking my happiness on something as inconsistent and lifeless as wifi? Am I just going to be in a bad mood for the rest of the day because I didn't get what I wanted?


It is a humbling thought process to undergo, but I am grateful for it.


Because the truth is, without these interruptions, I would be so caught up in my routine and what I think I need that, I wouldn't ever stop to see the small blessings He has for me.


Card games by lantern at the dining room table.


Playing the guitar in worship by phone-light.


Talking and praying with friends while eating all the ice cream before it melts.


A candlelight dinner with the lovely girls at the resident home.

Quick aside: You may see the sweatshirts and hats and wonder, "She's in the jungle right? Like on the equator? Isn't it hot there?" And you would be right. This day happened to be the coldest day I've experienced thus far in the jungle. I believe the high was around 72F, so we were pretty chilly :)


I would like to clarify that I still get annoyed when these interruptions come my way, but I am trying to reframe them as an invitation. This not only affect how I spend time in the moments of 'lack' but also how I spend time outside of them. Because His invitation is not dependent on my power being gone. But maybe I hear His invitations better when the distractions are muted...


An invitation to forget the work to be done and rest because His good and perfect will does not depend on the work I do.


An invitation to simply be present with those around me.


An invitation to accept the pursuit of my Father and sit with Him.


"Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you and learn from me, for I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. Fo my yoke is easy and my burden is light." -Matthew 11:28-30


Thank you all for your prayers and your kindness. It is truly a blessing to me to know I have people who are interested in what I am doing and invested in praying for me as I go. I ask your prayers for:

  • Grace with upcoming transitions of many kinds, both for me and many team members.

  • Peace as we enter into this advent season, preparing my heart to celebrate His birth with my family.

  • Trust and confidence in His love and consistency in my own life and in the lives of those I love.

  • Protection from the evil one and his schemes.

  • Safety for the holiday travels of myself and many others.

Thank you again and I wish you a Merry Christmas and a blessed season of Advent.


Bendiciones! -Katie

IMG_6667.jpg

¡Gracias

por venir!

bottom of page