top of page
Search

Clinging to what is promised

Over the past year or so, I have been re-evaluating the foundation of my hope.


I realized that I had been basing my hope on things that, although they were good things, were not guarantees. This was most evident in my conversations with others; there have been multiple times when well-meaning people have offered me comfort by assuring me of something they believed to be true with basis of Truth.


Some examples I've heard is "Don't worry, God will heal her, it's all going to be okay." or "Oh, I just know God has the perfect man for you to marry one day, you just have to be patient. It's all in His timing."


While I appreciate the sentiment behind their comments, I am beginning to recognize the dangers with putting my hope in something that hasn't been promised to me. What if that 'promise' doesn't happen? What then? My foundation would crumble underneath me as I wondered if God was really as good as He says. Didn't He promise me good things?


Here's the thing- I have read the Bible through, and I have found no evidence that the Lord has promised me health, physical safety, or even a husband.


This process of turning over desires and expectations for my life is a humbling one. It is a very vulnerable time, and is often scary for me as I slowly pry my stiff fingers away from people and dreams that I held desperately. It leaves me wondering what He could have for me in the future and how it could possibly be any good if it is not what I planned.


What I am realizing, though, is that the 'lowercase h' hopes that I clung to are absolutely nothing compared to the 'uppercase H' Hope that is being offered to me.


"Through these {His own glory and goodness} He has given us His very great and precious promises, so that through them you may participate in the divine nature, having escaped the corruption in the world caused by evil desires." (2 Peter 1:4)


My goal recently has been to intentionally search out the great and precious promises of God, upon which I can build my foundation and never fear the storm. This week, I found myself in 1 Peter.


"Praise be to the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ! In His great mercy He has given us new birth into a living Hope through the resurrection of Jesus Christ from the dead, and into an inheritance that can never perish, spoil or fade. This inheritance is kept in heaven for you," (1:3-4)


There is a living Hope of the inheritance that awaits me because of the resurrection of Jesus Christ. Therefore, I can live confident that, regardless of my temporary circumstances, restoration is coming.


How do I know I have received this promise?


"Though you have not seen Him, you love Him; and even though you do not see Him now, you believe in Him and are filled with an inexpressible and glorious joy, for you are receiving the end result of your faith, the salvation of your souls." (1:8-9)


I can feel it as I fall more in love with my Lord.


It's coming. Not only a Hope for the future, but a Hope for now.


However, this Hope does not exempt me from pain and suffering.


"Dear friends, do not be surprised at the fiery ordeal that has come on you to test you, as though something strange were happening to you. But rejoice inasmuch as you participate in the sufferings of Christ, so that you may be overjoyed when His glory is revealed." (4:12-13)


Not only can I find joy now in this Hope despite the devastation of my circumstances, but I have the Hope of being overjoyed in the revelation of His glory.


This Hope is what motivates me and gives me strength to do the work laid before me now.


"Be shepherds of God’s flock that is under your care, watching over them—not because you must, but because you are willing, as God wants you to be; not pursuing dishonest gain, but eager to serve; not lording it over those entrusted to you, but being examples to the flock. And when the Chief Shepherd appears, you will receive the crown of glory that will never fade away." (5:2-4)


Not out of obligation, but out of an overflowing of joy from the Hope that gives life and with the promise of a crown of His glory upon my head.


I continue forward knowing the Hope of what is yet to come.


"And the God of all grace, who called you to His eternal glory in Christ, after you have suffered a little while, will Himself restore you and make you strong, firm and steadfast. To him be the power for ever and ever. Amen." (5:10-11)


How I long to be unshakable. To trust Him so wholly that worry seems like a childish choice. To root myself so deeply in His love, that no storm can ever distract me from my source of Life and Love.


How He longs to complete this work in me.


How I long to be made those things.


Lord, I believe. Help my unbelief.


Amen.


Thank you for your kindness in following me on my journey. I humbly ask you to join me in prayer for:

  • The graduates! For my three graduating sisters (two from high school and one from college) as well as Antioch's first senior class. They have worked so hard to come to this milestone, so I rejoice in His faithfulness for bringing them here. I pray for peace and guidance as they begin discerning and taking next steps.

  • Rest and encouragement. I love working in Ecuador, but their school year is much longer than the U.S., with our graduation ceremony taking place in mid-July. We are all feeling the exhaustion of the end of the school year, but still looking at almost two more months ahead of us.

  • My heart. As I walk with many loved ones through the brokenness of this world, I am finding myself carrying a lot of weight that I need to continually place at the feet of Jesus. Pray that I would continue to meet with Him to offer Him the burdens I have taken on.

Thank you for your prayers! If there is anything I can partner with you in prayer for, I would love to hear from you through the blog, email, Whatsapp, or text.


Blessings!

-Katie

IMG_6667.jpg

¡Gracias

por venir!

bottom of page